top of page

SHOW REVIEW: neck deep - denver, co



It’s been a few years since I’ve seen Neck Deep live in Denver - the last time was back in 2018 and was my first show covering them live. To say that I was excited for this time around would be an understatement. The lineup was stacked, featuring the Oxymorrons, Heart Attack Man, Boston Manor, and Neck Deep headlining. One of the bands, Zero, was not playing as I found out once I arrived at the Ogden Theater. This venue is one of my personal favorites in Denver, bringing in thousands of fans to see some of their favorite artists perform.


The Oxymorrons came out first with immense energy and a unique sound that I found enjoyable. They were getting the crowd excited as everyone started to fill in the venue. Next up was Heart Attack Man. If you haven’t had the pleasure of seeing them live, you need to. Eric’s stage presence is full of energy and gets the crowd wound up, and getting everyone involved, two-stepping on stage, and lighting up the room. I’ve never been disappointed with any of their live performances and seeing them play new songs off their latest EP “Thoughtz & Prayerz” made everyone excited. I couldn’t help myself from singing along as their music makes me hyped and get in a mood that even I can’t begin to describe.


Boston Manor came out next, and again it’s been a few years since I’ve seen them live last. The Pandemic has been challenging enough for artists all over for the last year and a half - especially bands overseas, and I was most excited to see one of my favorite bands live again. They dropped a new EP before the tour and it’s been on repeat for me since then. One of my favorite songs “Carbon Mono” was played and I sang every song as I watched and took more photos from the crowd. They were thanking everyone after their set and are some of the most genuine people I’ve met and seen live before.


Neck Deep was about to come out next. Everything was emptied off the stage other than the drums and mic stands. I knew that this performance of theirs was going to be my new favorite I’ve seen from them. The crowd was anticipated and excited, and so was I along with my friends that I was with that night. They came out from the fog and started out with “Sonderland” and played a mix of old and new songs. The crowd was singing along, dancing, and the lighting was bright and bold as their set went on throughout the night. I’ve always loved Neck Deep, so when they played some of my personal favorites such as “Kali Ma,” “Citizens of Earth,” and “Lime St.,” you know I was singing my lungs out. One of the songs I knew was going to be played was saved closer towards the end of the night. “December” holds a special place in my heart and while they played that, I was surrounded by some of my closest friends as we all sang along and tears ran down my face. This tour was by far one of my favorites in 2021 as shows are slowly coming back and Neck Deep never ceases to amaze me.


Recent Posts

See All

SHOW REVIEW: blessthefall - denver, co

When I heard that Blessthefall was back and going back on tour, I knew I needed to go. I've been wanting to see them since their first album, and this brought back memories to my scene kid days in hig

bottom of page