top of page

SHOW REVIEW: blessthefall - denver, co

When I heard that Blessthefall was back and going back on tour, I knew I needed to go. I've been wanting to see them since their first album, and this brought back memories to my scene kid days in high school. On August 9th, they stopped in Denver, CO at Summit Music Hall and the venue was packed with a mix of old and new fans, along with kids in the crowd too showing support for the tour and Blessthefall.


Upon entering the venue, Dragged Under was playing and started with "Just Like Me" to get the fans warmed up. You could see them singing along with the vocalist and starting mosh pits throughout the set. The energy level was consistent during their set, interacting with the crowd and even doing some cool tricks with the microphone, and one of the members launching his guitar in mid-air and catching it. It's worth it to show up early so you can catch their set in your city.


Next up was Kingdom of Giants -- it's been a few years since I've seen them live and hadn't listened to their music since that time, but I was impressed with how they sounded. Starting the set with "Burner," which melds together progressive elements with bouncy, low-toned riffs. It felt like a shorter set to me, but everyone was having a great time from what I saw. They played their latest single, "Wasted Space," and everyone's feet were off the ground.


Back from across the pond, the UK based band Caskets took the stage. I remember hearing "Drowned in Emotion" coming on my station on Apple Music and had to listen to more. Excited was an understatement because I saw them on their run with Dayseeker. Naturally they played that song during their set and the crowd and I sang along with them. They played "More Than Misery" and "Guiding Light" off their upcoming album "Reflections" releasing on August 11th.


The moment everyone has been waiting for -- Blessthefall took the stage, and everyone was screaming. As it's the 10 year anniversary of Hollow Bodies (and the name of the tour) they played the album front to back. It was my first time seeing them live and the adrenaline was pumping through my veins when I was taking photos of them. Reliving my days in college when this album came out. Fans were crowdsurfing a few songs in and they didn't stop all night.


I remember spotting a little girl wearing headphones to protect her ears on her mom's shoulders and Beau made sure to give them a special shoutout. It was heartwarming seeing the look on her face when he reached out to her hand. Their guitarist, Elliot, had broken his foot at the beginning of the tour and Beau made sure to tell everyone about it. He still put on one hell of a show while wearing a walking cast.


For that main reason, they stayed on stage after playing the last song on Hollow Bodies for their encore. Typically, the encore is one or two songs tops, but this wasn't the case and you're going to want to stay until the end. They played their latest single "Wake the Dead" and started playing some throwbacks like "Cutthroat." I won't say what other songs they played for the encore, but let's just say if you're a fan of "Witness," stay and you'll thank me later. If they're playing your city next, definitely go because you will not be disappointed.

bottom of page