top of page

REVIEW: tales of a hopeless romantic by pop alma



If you wanna start your February Valentine’s Day induced sadness then look no further! As titled ‘Tales Of A Hopeless Romantic’ is perfect for any other hopeless romantics out there and has a perfect mix with love themes ranging from heartbreak, falling in love, having a crush and jealousy.


The New Jersey based pop rock band is releasing a new EP on November 19th and to put it simply, it’s amazing.


Pop Alma’s sound can somewhat be compared to the likes of The Living Tombstone and Panic At The Disco but I think they have a unique sounding style that you have to dive into without expecting comparisons and just hear it for yourself.


Personally I’ve always been a fan of high tempo/jumpier tracks as well as tracks with a lot of energy which was why although I really liked Project Valentine, the second I heard My Bed Is Big Enough For The Two Of Us it was a clear favorite for me.


The name of the song is deceiving and although I thought it was going to be romantic it was very much not(in a good way.)

The lyrics and vocals almost remind me of songs by Set It Off and they manage to turn the whole song around and make the song even better with a catchy beat and an addicting chorus.


Throughout the whole EP I personally liked the duality showing the different sides of being a hopeless romantic both the cutesy crush phase and the eventual heartbreak. Pop Alma I am sorry that you got your hearts broken, but this EP is incredible.


‘Tales Of A Hopeless Romantic’ comes out next month on November 19th and you can pre-save their second single ‘My Bed Is Big Enough For The Two Of Us’ here: https://distrokid.com/hyperfollow/popalma/my-bed-is-big-enough-for-the-two-of-us-2

bottom of page