top of page

REVIEW: fever dream by grumpster


I first discovered Grumpster earlier this year, and upon hearing their single “Fever Dream,” as well as the other singles from their newly-released album of the same title, I was eager to hear more from the record.


The album opens with that title track, initially led by vocalist and bassist Donnie Walsh, who instantly brings some of the album’s strongest vocal melodies, during the record’s first few lines: “It feels like there’s poison in my bones and blood / A darkness floods my head sometimes, I’m paralyzed from things unseen, from deep inside of me.” Guitarist Lalo Gonzalez Deets and drummer Noel Atagne join in shortly afterwards, helping the song’s tempo pick up the pace, and the track makes an unforgettable opener overall.


“Crash” has a huge intro before the vocals and guitar take the lead during the verse, but the rest of the band join in during the chorus, and the drum fill in the bridge stands out before the song’s final sections. As Walsh sings lines like “I question myself losing sanity every day, it just gets darker, I don’t know if I’ll be okay” and “It’s dark inside every time I close my eyes, I dream of flying away.” “Better Than Dead'' begins acoustically before more instrumentals come in, and once the chorus begins, the tempo picks up the pace, and the band continues to open up about mental health on the track's lyrics (“I’m stuck between the cracks again, I feel like I can’t breathe / Silence is eating me alive, I think this might be misery”).


“Picture” brings some catchy lead guitars in the intro, and while the tempo is much more fast paced throughout most of its duration, it slows down towards the end to prepare for an anthemic outro. “Vicious” once again brings back the acoustic guitar and swaps the drums for a shaker, bringing a more stripped-back tone to the record. The melodies throughout the song are very catchy, and the lyrics depict the impact of mental illness and what it’s like to deal with it on a daily basis (“It seems like nothing's left of me / I'm not who I used to be, in denial, in denial / It feels like I have lost control of everything worth fighting for / It's a cycle, vicious cycle”).


“Looking Good” captivates the listener right away with its energetic instrumentation, and the composition makes it yet another memorable single. “Enjoy It While It Lasts” talks about having a bleak outlook on life (“What’s missing? What was taken away? / Tragedy strikes every single day, out of touch and losing faith that somеday soon we’ll be okay”), and yearning for better days (“Enjoy it while it lasts, those days in love, can’t get them back”).

“Mirrors” showcases the band’s punk rock influences very well throughout. Inspired by Green Day’s “Panic Song,” the instrumentals create a long intro before the vocals come in. Those vocals take the spotlight at the end of the song, singing lyrics that explain the feeling of dysphoria: “The mirrors, they lie / I’m wasting all my time trying to convince myself I’ll get used to the sight / I feel stuck in this skin, I’m so fucking sick of it / Cut me up, set me free / Maybe then I can start to breathe.”


“I Wouldn’t Dream Of It” is a letter towards a former friend, acknowledging that they once made a positive impact, but also coming to the realization that they are a toxic person and cutting them out of your life is what’s best for your own well-being (“You didn’t change my life / You just made the dark days bearable, but you are oh so terrible, I’ve learned”). “Spiders” closes the album on a powerful note, as Walsh pleads “Will you tell me that I won’t feel like this for eternity? I’m tired of feeling inside out, it’s killing me without a doubt” before the song and album concludes.


With incredibly honest lyrics and unforgettable vocal and instrumental hooks throughout, “Fever Dream” is a stellar sophomore LP from Grumpster.



bottom of page