top of page

REVIEW: this is how the world ends by badflower



As much as it pains me to say this: Badflower’s new album falls into the sophomore slump.

Their second full-length album, This Is How The World Ends, doesn’t hold a candle to OK, I’m Sick, or their EP Temper.

It might sound a bit harsh but it honestly took me three tries to listen to the record fully because certain songs just turned me off completely. There are a handful of songs I enjoyed but overall the album left a strange taste in my mouth. I think it’s because I know Badflower and I know their potential and this album feels like a big reach into trying to be different. Yes, I understand, artists evolve and change their sound and grow into their music style. But I feel like your second studio album is too early to jump the gun when you’re just establishing a fan base. I feel like this album could’ve been done right if it was five years into the future with a few other records under the belt.

I think what it lacks is subtlety.

In OK, I’m Sick, for example, songs like “Girlfriend” touch on stalking and obsession, and it was done in a way that made the listener think. However, on this record, “Stalker” was so on the nose that the repetitiveness annoyed me more than anything. Though the song properly encapsulates the dumpster fire that was 2020, “Everyone’s An Asshole” feels lyrically lazy and the music doesn’t catch my attention. “Adolescent Love” is a strange attempt at storytelling. I see where it’s going but it never reaches its peak. The mention of the teacher taking the socks from his shoes and mentioning “you’re only a boy, you’re too young to really love her” feels uncomfortable— what teacher is that invested in a child’s love life? Maybe if it came from a parent it would work. The whole song feels just off and I can’t quite put my finger on it.

Other songs feel lyrically sound but lack musical interest. As someone who has seen Badflower live, I think I’m struggling to picture them playing these acoustic-heavy, hum-along-to-lyrics songs. The guitars on “My Funeral” make me want to fall asleep. (Also the random use of “bitch-ass enemies” infuriates me honestly. Random use of curse words that don’t fit the songs was a common theme throughout the record.)

It wasn’t all bad. Badflower is still Badflower and certain songs reminded me of who I was listening to and gave me glimpses of hope. They have never been afraid of the dark and they continue to prove that fact with songs like “Tethered.” Lyrics that make your skin crawl, you almost feel bad for enjoying the melody. “Family,” “30” and “Don’t Hate Me” are the most classically Badflower sounding songs, definitely fan favorites. “Family” feels so raw and honest, it brought me to tears the first time I heard it.

“She Knows” is written from the perspective of a cheater experiencing their partner learning the truth about them. It's powerful and painful to listen to. The guitar solo in “She knows” flows so seamlessly back into the mellowness of the song. It’s almost enough to save the song from the monotonous repetitive chorus.

“Fukboi” is a hilarious social commentary. We all know someone exactly like this and the sound and lyricism capture it so well. It’s definitely a dance track that will go crazy at live shows. The drums alone are enough to get listeners going.

Maybe I need a few more listens to fall in love with the album. Maybe it’s just not their best. Regardless, I know Badflower can do better. This Is How The World Ends feels experimental, as if it was something they needed to get out of their system. Fingers crossed that album number three will be their best. Stream Badflower’s new album This Is How The World Ends and catch them on tour now if this record is your cup of tea.

bottom of page