top of page

REVIEW: reanimate reality by holodeck



Holodeck, a grunge dream pop band based in Orlando, has released their second EP titled Reanimate Reality. The band consists of Trey Hartley (vocals), Dieter Unrath (drums), Kevin Corter (guitar), and Cody Unangst (bass).


“Roswell” is a strong start to the EP as a whole. The first scream to the lyrics “In a spiral again, forced to always defend, you’ve got me thinking I always fail” followed by the immediate breakdown at 1:34 gave me goosebumps. There’s something about an intentional scream that always hits me in just the right spot.


“Harmonious” slows the pace a little. There is so much variety in the vocals in this song; from a higher pop punk, to intentional screaming, and the switch up at 1:07 (my personal favorite part) where the pitch drops and isolates to create such an intimate atmosphere.


With “Sacred Sun” up next, the intro’s sound reminded me of “Use Somebody” by Kings of Leon with the drums and layered guitar. The scream towards the end saying “I’ve been drinking heavy just to numb the pain, it’s the only part of me that I can contain” I think will speak to a lot of people.


“King Phoenix” done with Capstan is probably one of the heavier songs on the EP. The guitar solo at 0:56 is giving more of a classic rock sound compared to the rest of the songs. “Drift” has that similar sound with the guitar as “King Phoenix” does, but overall is a slower and calmer song. The lyric “But I still drift in this realm somehow… I was locked in a box” I thought was a clever relation back to their band name (intentional or not).


“Escape”, a softer acoustic song with layered harmonies is such a peaceful ending to the EP. It’s one of those songs you add to your “staring at the ceiling” playlist (which is what mine is called) for when your mind is surrounded by fog and you just need those songs that voice how you're feeling better than you’re physically able to.


There are so many things I love about this EP but I think my absolute favorite is that it’s the perfect mix of songs you can sing at the top of your lungs while, as I have to when I try, whisper screaming along.


bottom of page