top of page

REVIEW: hellbent by bridges ablaze


It is amongst our peers that we can often find what we like. There's something that can be comforting in an equal pace and footing from those around us, this freeing, almost jubilant exultation in knowing that we can keep our processes, creations and practices in relative arms length of each other. Bridges Ablaze communicated this to me with "Hellbent". Needling riffs and vicious chugs this anthemic call to push forward and carry on, even while the sky itself is rent black with an unnamed and generally faceless force. Again our want not need be exceptional to be something that matters. I can't tell you that Bridges Ablaze have changed my life, but for a melodic metal song, equal parts heavy and mellow, I felt that brief glimmer of "Yeah, maybe..." that I'm sure anyone of us could use. And for now, that's more than enough.

bottom of page